Marriage License

Marriage licenses (appointments recommended)

WI Residents may apply for a marriage license in any Wisconsin County.


To obtain a marriage license you will need the following information:

 1.  Non-expired Photo ID (valid driver’s license, passport or government ID)

 2.   Proof of residency -- A document proving where each of you have physically lived for 30 days prior to the application. (driver’s license if address is current, recent utility bill, dated mail, lease, government issued document, etc.)

 3.     A CERTIFIED copy of your birth certificate; not a photo copy

 4.     Your social security number (you do not have to show the card)

 5.     We need to know DATE of the marriage and LOCATION of the marriage

 6.   The name, address and phone number of the officiant

My officiant was ordained through the internet. Can he/she perform the ceremony? Yes, if he/she meets the requirements of Wis. Stat. § 765.16. What if I have concerns about the legality of our chosen officiant? The couple should seek legal counsel if they have questions regarding this. The County Clerk’s Office is unable to give legal advice.


Does my officiant need to register? No, there is not a state-wide registry for officiants in Wisconsin. Neither the Sawyer County Clerk nor the State Vital Records Office will confirm the legality of an officiant.

 7.     If you were previously married, a copy of the Divorce Decree or Death Certificate from the previous marriage

8.   100.00 cash or check (no credit cards)

 There is a 3-day waiting period after which time the license is valid for 60 days. A waiver for the waiting period may be made; a $10 fee payable in check or cash applies.

 Revised 7/1/22