Northern Regional Trail Advisory Committee

The Northern Regional Trail Advisory Committee (NoRTAC), which is under the Northwest Regional Planning Commission, has developed and finally launched our motorized user survey for both snowmobiles and ATVs. Please take a few minutes and fill one or both surveys.

Thank you, Cathy LaReau

ATV Survey

NoRTAC_ATV_Survey_QR Opens in new window

Snowmobile Survey

NoRTAC_Snowmobile_Survey_QR Opens in new window

NoRTAC Document Center at NWRPC

From the Sawyer County Record Feb 1, 2023, Cathy Lareau, Sawyer County Snowmobile & ATV Alliance: "Due to the growth of ATV use, NWRPC formed The Wild Rivers Trail Commission (WRT) in 1996, which included Washburn, Barron and Douglas counties. In 2009 WRT was dissolved and The Northern Regional Trail Advisory Committee (NoRTAC) was formed, and additional counties were added to its cooperative agreement. 

Today, NoRTAC works on development, operations and maintenance of motorized recreational trails and corridors that connect, and pass through, Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Sawyer, Washburn, Burnett, Polk, Chippewa, Barron and Rusk counties.  NoRTAC directors come from county boards, federal, state and county forestry and natural resources departments, highway departments, motorized sports associations such as Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC) and public law enforcement.